What are we reading: Tinkle, Tinkle Little Star

It is becoming a bit of a throwback week and I am diggin’ the nostalgia. I think I am going to stick with the theme.

At the airport bookstall, I was looking for something to read and picked up Amitav Ghosh’s ‘Calcutta Chromosome’ (the separation from the city was too hard to bear and I needed a Kolkata patch). I did not want T to start scribbilng on my paperback and grabbed the first comic that looked toddler-appropriate.

It was only later that I realised it was a Tinkle Digest – THE TINKLE DIGEST from my childhood!  As I flipped through, excitement gave way to sadness.

tinkle

I had possibly expected the Tinkle characters to grow old with me. I was infinitely jealous that Suppandi could hang on to his teens while I struggled with my motherhood potbelly! But no, Suppandi was still the village idiot, Shambhu Shikari was still the same middle aged lucky b@&#@^d, Hooja was still ruling even as Tantri’s 100,000th plan to kill him failed. And here I was, reading their stories to my daughter – like I was the outsider in their secret world.

Growing up is lonely business!

 

Leave a Reply

